Web Sharing
Share your archived posts to the web with your personal public timeline.
Overview
Social Archiver lets you share your archived posts to a public timeline at social-archive.org/{username}. This allows you to curate and publish selected posts from your private vault to the web.
How to Share Posts
Using the Share Button
The most common way to share posts is using the share button in the bottom-right corner of each post card in Timeline View.
To share a post:
- Find the post you want to share in Timeline View
- Click the share button (share-2 icon) in the bottom-right action area
- The permalink is automatically copied to your clipboard
- The post is published to your public timeline at
social-archive.org/{username} - The share button icon changes to a link icon to indicate the post is shared
To unshare a post:
- Click the link icon on an already-shared post
- The post is removed from your public timeline
- The icon changes back to the share button
Permalink Copied
When you share a post, the direct link to that specific post is automatically copied to your clipboard, ready to paste and share anywhere!
Share Modes
You can control how shared posts appear on the web in your plugin settings:
Preview Mode (Copyright-Safe)
- Shows text excerpt only (configurable length, default: 280 characters)
- Includes link to original platform post
- No media displayed
- Recommended for respecting copyright
Full Mode
- Displays complete original content
- Includes all media (images, videos)
- Full text preserved
- Use with caution: Only share content you have explicit permission to publish
Copyright Warning
Full Mode publishes the entire original content to the web. This may violate copyright laws or platform terms of service. Always verify you have the right to republish the content before using Full Mode. When in doubt, use Preview Mode instead.
Change share mode: Settings → Social Archiver → Sharing → Share Mode
Managing Shared Posts
Delete Shared Post
When you delete a post from your vault:
- If the post was shared, it's automatically removed from your public timeline
- No additional action needed
Unshare All Posts
To remove all your shared posts at once:
- Go to Settings → Social Archiver
- Scroll to the Danger Zone section
- Click "Delete all shared posts"
- Confirm the action
Danger Zone
This action cannot be undone. All your shared posts will be permanently removed from the public timeline.
Your Public Timeline
Your shared posts appear on your public timeline at:
https://social-archive.org/{username}Timeline Features
- Real-time updates: New shares appear instantly via WebSocket
- Chronological feed: Posts sorted by share date (newest first)
- Direct links: Each post has a permanent URL
- Responsive design: Works on desktop and mobile
Viewing Individual Posts
Each shared post has its own URL:
https://social-archive.org/{username}/{postId}You can share this link directly to point people to a specific post.
SEO & Social Media Optimization
Your shared posts are automatically optimized for search engines and social media platforms:
Search Engine Friendly
- Proper Meta Tags: Title, description, and canonical URLs for each post
- Structured Data: Schema.org JSON-LD markup for rich search results
- Server-Side Rendering: Complete HTML delivered to search engines
- Clean URLs: Semantic, readable URLs for better indexing
Social Media Cards
When you share links on social media, they display beautiful preview cards:
- Twitter/X Cards: Rich previews with images and descriptions
- Facebook/LinkedIn Open Graph: Optimized metadata for social sharing
- Dynamic Thumbnails: First image from post (if available) used as preview
- Author Attribution: Original author information preserved in previews
Performance
- Fast Loading: Optimized delivery for instant page loads
- Responsive Design: Perfect display on all devices
- Real-time Updates: WebSocket connections keep content fresh
Professional Sharing
Your public timeline at social-archive.org/{username} works like a personal mini-blog with professional SEO and social sharing features built-in. No technical setup required!
Privacy Considerations
What's Shared
When you share a post, the following information becomes public:
- Post content (full or preview, based on your settings)
- Author information from the original post
- Platform metadata (likes, comments, shares counts)
- Original post URL
- Media files (in Full mode only)
What's Not Shared
- Your vault structure or file paths
- Other unshared posts in your vault
- Personal notes or comments you added to the post
- Your Obsidian configuration
Authentication Required
- You must be logged in to share posts
- Only you can share or unshare your posts
- Your username is your public identity
Best Practice
Use Preview mode by default to respect copyright and original creators. Only use Full mode for content you have explicit permission to share.
Troubleshooting
Share Button is Grayed Out
Cause: Not logged in
Solution: Go to Settings → Social Archiver → Authentication and complete the login process
Share Failed
Common causes:
- Network connection issues
- Post file not found or deleted
- Server temporarily unavailable
Solutions:
- Check your internet connection
- Verify the post still exists in your vault
- Try again in a few moments
Post Not Appearing on Timeline
Possible issues:
- Browser cache (try hard refresh: Ctrl/Cmd + Shift + R)
- WebSocket connection issue (wait 30 seconds for auto-refresh)
- Post was shared but immediately unshared
Solutions:
- Refresh your browser
- Check if the post is still marked as shared (link icon)
- Try sharing the post again